November 22, 2013 – Eric Clapton 3-pack, Tom Petty, Yogurt With Sprinkles, Silversun Pickups, and Cake FtV!

Note: Videos may contain authoring issues that have been fixed, and are for preview purposes only.

C3 releases for November 22, 2013:

New! Faces of Clapton 3-pack (farottone)

  • Cream – “Sunshine of Your Love” K
  • Derek and the Dominos – “Layla” M
  • Eric Clapton – “Cocaine” K

New! Singles

  • Silversun Pickups – “Substitution” (jaychuck)
  • Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – “Listen to Her Heart” M X (TrojanNemo)
    Converted from Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock
  • Yogurt With Sprinkles – “Hey Mr. Wilson” M (Gigakoops)

From the Vault: Single

  • Cake – “The Distance” X (Nyxyxylyth and thespike)

A red X denotes Pro Guitar/Pro Bass, a blue M denotes full multitracks, and a blue K denotes a “karaoke” multitrack (separated vocals).

This week we continue down the list of classic rock artists Rock Band never got with farottone’s “Faces of Clapton” pack. Eric Clapton was and is a prolific musician, and it would be a disservice not to explore all of his various musical avenues. (Well, most, anyway. We’ll get someone to do a Yardbirds song later.) “Sunshine of Your Love” may be known to many of you from its GH3 cover, but it’s an iconic piece of rock history. The same is definitely true for “Layla”, one of Clapton’s most identifiable songs — which is funny, because it wasn’t even released under his name.  “Cocaine” is nothing to snort laugh at, either; you’ve almost certainly heard it before on classic rock radio. All of these songs will be of interest to guitarists, but vocalists will have a good time too!

First-time C3 author jaychuck (with help from Nyxyxylyth on vocals) brings us the Silversun Pickups’ “Substitution”, from their second album Swoon. This is the album that brought us “Panic Switch” and “Sort Of” as DLC, following three earlier Rock Band releases from their first album Carnavas. You’re probably familiar with Brian Aubert’s unique vocal stylings at this point, and “Substitution” is full of the same indie rock goodness.

TrojanNemo brings us what he claims is his last GH conversion, with special guest appearances by PikminGuts92 (Pro Keys), RyanHYK (harmonies), and columbo777 (Pro G/B). Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have a very strong presence in RB (13 songs!), but we never got “Listen to Her Heart”, the second single from the album that brought us RB3’s on-disc “I Need to Know”. If you can never have enough Tom Petty in your life, this song’s vaguely country-influenced crooning is just the thing.

Gigakoops mixes things up a bit this week with an Internet song authored after our “Internet Then and Now” pack. Game Grumps is a YouTube series about video games and shenanigans, and “Hey Mr. Wilson” ties in there somewhere. (I’m sorry, my Internet knowledge has failed me on this one. I expect lots of angry fanmail.) This song, which probably falls best under “rap”, will challenge Game Grumps fans with its challenging electronic guitar and drums parts.

Closing us out this week is a FtV release from Nyxyxylyth and thespike, providing our first release from another band noticeably absent from Rock Band: Cake (or CAKE, if you’re into that). “The Distance” is one of the Sacramento band’s biggest singles from their sophomore album Fashion Nugget (“Frank Sinatra”, “Italian Leather Sofa”). Normally I try to stay impartial in our blog copy, but Cake is awesome and you should download this song. Pending, of course, our 36-song megapack! Ahahahahahaha! (not actually happening) (This FtV release has received a general clean-up pass since its pre-C3 release and Pro G/B by columbo777.)

Did we leave out any important Clapton? Do all of these bands suck? Author stuff yourself!

See you next Friday!

New! Faces of Clapton 3-pack (farottone)

Additional authoring credits: Bass by ws54

New! Silversun Pickups – “Substitution” (jaychuck)

New! Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – “Listen to Her Heart” (TrojanNemo)

Additional authoring credits: PK by PikminGuts92, harmonies by RyanHYK, Pro G/B by columbo777

New! Yogurt With Sprinkles – “Hey Mr. Wilson” (Gigakoops)

FtV: Cake – “The Distance” (Nyxyxylyth and thespike)

Additional authoring credits: Pro G/B by columbo777

15 comments on “November 22, 2013 – Eric Clapton 3-pack, Tom Petty, Yogurt With Sprinkles, Silversun Pickups, and Cake FtV!

  1. MASSIVE thanks to jaychuck for Substitution! SSPU is one of my top favorite bands!! It’s the cherry on top of a very awesome set this week. Thanks to everyone involved!

  2. Just saying.. Watch the Dennis The Menace episode of Game Grumps. It’s where the audio clips in that song are from. I’m SO EXCITED for that song.

  3. Laylaaaaa!!!!! Yeah! Can’t go wrong with the classics! Thanks guys! Farottone, you’re doing a great service to all of us who got into Rock Band for the rock!
    Also, thanks to jaychuck for his contribution. Silversun Pickups was something new that RB introduced me to and it’s good to see more!

  4. Pingback: October 3, 2014 – Queensrÿche’s “Operation: Mindcrime”, plus Silversun Pickups, The Raconteurs, Attila, and Cold! | Customs Creators Collective

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s